5 Minutes in a Dad’s Head

This morning as I perused my Facebook feed I noticed my wife posted a link to this article, ‘5 Minutes in a Mom’s Head’.  I thought it would be interesting to see the flip side…from one man’s perspective.  I’ve often said…my wife’s job as a stay-at-home-mom is way more difficult and grueling than my day job at the office…and she does it all for free…this is by no means meant to slight all you mom’s out there.


What time is it?  What day is it?  Dang…if I don’t roll out of this bed and into the shower I’m going to be late for work.  It’d be nice if I could take a day off sometime.  I should have gone to bed earlier last night…stupid Netflix and YouTube…those Jimmy Fallon Lip Flip’s were pretty hilarious though…and then falling asleep to the stupid soft glow of Facebook.  If I would’ve gone to bed at a decent hour I could’ve gotten up early and exercised…but this bed feels so good.  Maybe I’ll start next Monday…because this week is already shot…and it’s Father’s Day weekend.

It’s raining again…I sure wish it would stop raining…the yard is like a jungle…I’m going to have to mow it twice.  The weedeater didn’t start last week and I need to trim the yard more often…I wonder if we need a new weedeater.  I wish I was better at small engine repair where I could fix it…it is 10 years old though…things don’t last anymore.  I don’t see the point in sending it in for service because that will probably cost more that just heading over to Lowes and picking up a new one.  Maybe I’ll get one of those units with the detachable implements for edging and blowing off yard debris.  Maybe while I’m at Lowes I can price out the materials for that hammock stand…that hammock stand the kids will enjoy more than me.

Crap…it’s 6:40 and I need to be out the door in 5 minutes.  I need to be quiet getting ready so I don’t wake everyone up…I’ll put my shoes on in the garage.  Seems like only one member of our family sleeps well anymore…the 6 year old.  The 9 year old wants to stay up late…the 1 year old may be teething again.  I’d love to be six again sometime…Star Wars, G.I. Joe, Transformers…Little Debbie’s…that’s all I had to worry about.

What do I need to do today?  I’ve got to wrap up those plans today…then get started on three other projects. I need to schedule a follow-up with one of our clients.  I hope my inbox isn’t full of last minute questions from consultants…still gunning for Inbox Zero...I need to finish reading ‘Getting Things Done’.  Our family could probably benefit from having an organized husband/dad…maybe it would bleed over into projects at home…heck maybe into all of our lives.  I need to clean out this garage already.  We moved here over 2 months ago and it’s half full of unpacked boxes…I see the kids have made a fort out here…that looks like fun.  I should stay home and play with them in the garage…maybe go through these boxes.  Hey…there’s that cool hunk of 100 year old beam just laying there…I should use that for a lamp base or something.

I wonder how much longer this Honda is going to last…I guess I’ll drive it until the wheels fall off.  It’d be fun to have a Jeep…the kids would like riding around in a Jeep…an adventure mobile!  I need to get new tags for the cars…and check to see if we’re violating some law by not having them registered yet…surely there’s a 6-month window for this?  Maybe I could take the kids with me and teach them about the process…that should pass for a Civics lesson…I should be more involved in their homeschool.  Glad it’s summertime…wish we could go on a vacation or something.  Maybe a day trip somewhere close by.  It’d be fun just to take a husband wife trip though…or a date for that matter.

Okay…if I don’t get going I’m going to be late.  Oh man…I need to stop for gas…I’m on empty…but not really empty because there’s gotta be at least 3 gallons in the tank when the light comes on.  At 24 miles per gallon I can get 2-3 more days out of this tank!

Leave a Reply

