Update: Deer Camp Food

I had pretty good success staying on the wagon during deer camp…felt like I cheated when I ate some dark chocolate though.  It was fun being outdoors for a few days away from the busy life…and being with some great people was rad as well.  The typical camp food was in full effect…chili…fried chicken…biscuits…desserts…s’mores…and wonderful delicacies like hog jowl, sow belly, and sorghum molasses…it all LOOKED and SMELLED amazing.  Taking the time to prepare helped me a lot…when I was hungry I’d go to my stash of food…it was tough because my wandering gaze had me close to rationalizing indulging in foods I use to enjoy (a little too much)…the pecan pie…Dear Lord…PECAN PIE!  Nonetheless…I did enjoy some wonderful food…including supplements and the ever-so-trusty PaleoMeal chocolate shake with almond milk.  For snacks I ate fruit (pears, oranges, apples, and grapes) and nuts (dry roasted almonds and pecans).  Below are some of the highlights…I forgot to snap a picture of the best meal though…roasted in foil over hot coals…pork loin chops and a roasted sweet potato topped with pecans!

I made this prior to heading out to the woods...contains beef stew meat, tomatoes, carrots, corn, green beans, olive oil, water, salt, and basil.

I made this prior to heading out to the woods…contains beef stew meat, tomatoes, carrots, corn, green beans, olive oil, water, salt, and basil.

 

Grilled salmon and tomatoes...lightly seasoned.

Grilled salmon and tomatoes…lightly seasoned.

I wasn't a huge fan of the grilled tomatoes...I normally do not eat them raw...cooked with other foods are okay though.

I wasn’t a huge fan of the grilled tomatoes…I normally do not eat them raw…cooked with other foods are okay though.

 

Pinto Beans with Mustard Greens and Ham...outstanding!

Pinto Beans with Mustard Greens and Ham…outstanding!

 

I'm not eating poultry for the next 6 months...but roasted these drumsticks for my wife and son.

I’m not eating poultry for the next 6 months…but roasted these drumsticks for my wife and son.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

