Food Planning…Going Camping

PAN 23-HDRThis weekend I’ll be roughing it in the wilderness camping with some family members for the annual opening day of deer season…Deer Camp.  I’m not a hunter (although I think I could enjoy it)…but I thoroughly enjoy camping and being outdoors…hiking…relaxing by a campfire…and visiting with folks.  We all know one thing…CAMP FOOD IS THE BEST…there’s something magical that happens to food when you cook and eat it outdoors…perhaps there’s a scientific term for this…perhaps there’s something in all of us that makes food taste better in the wild!

While I would normally tend to want to take a hiatus from healthy eating and indulge in all the delicacies of camp food…I’m taking a different approach this year.  Gone are the days of fatty cuts of steak, fried chicken, hot dogs, sausage, chili, biscuits, pies & cakes, cookies, granola bars, soda, beer, coffee…and everyone’s favorite…s’mores!  hotdogIt’ll be a true test of will as I seek to avoid these former staples of mine…I’ll be polite about it all…and I won’t be judging and in-your-face about it…I just hope Uncle Scooter understands.

This time around I’ve put together a plan to eat healthy…hopefully it all happens without a hiccup.  I was actually up late last night making a pot of beef stew to bring (with carrots, corn, green beans, mushrooms, and tomatoes)…it turned out really well.  I also plan on bringing other healthy staples including: PORK, salmon, sweet potatoes, carrots, apples, oranges, eggs, almonds & pecans, tea, water, almond milk, and a few other things…like supplements and a delicious PaleoMeal chocolate protien shake!

It’s going to be a blast…I hope to take some photos of all the eats…good or bad!

2 thoughts on “Food Planning…Going Camping

  1. Good for you! Sounds great!

  2. Pingback: Camping Food EasyCamping-Together | Camping-Together

Leave a Reply

